Search for title, description or article body.

Return to Article List

Photo Gallery: BMI Christian Music Awards Honour Genre's Most-Played Songs
Posted: Wednesday June 20th, 2012

2012 BMI Christian Songwriters of the Year

Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) celebrated the songwriters and music publishers behind the past year's most-performed songs in Christian music last night during the organization's annual Christian Music Awards, held at BMI's Nashville offices on Music Row.

Consistent chart-topper tobyMac earned his third consecutive Christian Songwriter of the Year crystal and shares the 2012 honour with Casting Crowns frontman Mark Hall, singer/songwriter Matt Maher, Southern gospel staple Kyla Rowland and hit songwriter/producer Chris Stevens. The unusual five-way tie occurred because the hit-makers each wrote or co-wrote two of the songs on the year's most-performed list.

Cross-format superstar Kirk Franklin earned Christian Song of the Year honours for his smash "I Smile", published by Aunt Gertrude Music Publishing LLC and Bridge Building Music.

With the highest percentage of copyright ownership among the year's most-performed songs, powerhouse EMI CMG Publishing clinched the Christian Publisher of the Year win.

During the ceremony, prolific family group The Isaacs, 2012 Dove Awards Artist of the Year Jason Crabb and dynamic contemporary Christian singer/songwriter Chris Tomlin each delivered inspirational performances.

Jody Williams, BMI Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations, Nashville, and Associate Director Leslie Roberts served as the evening's hosts alongside Phil Graham, BMI Senior Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations.

A complete list of the 2012 BMI Christian Award winners is available at

Broadcast Music, Inc.® (BMI®), a global leader in music rights management, is an American performing rights organization that represents more than 500,000 songwriters, composers and music publishers in all genres of music and more than 7.5 million musical works. BMI has represented the most popular and beloved music from around the world for more than 70 years. The company provides licenses for businesses that perform music, and distributes the fees it generates as royalties to the musical creators and copyright owners it represents. Find out more at, follow @BMI on Twitter and stay connected through Facebook.

Here are some images from the evening courtesy of BMI. All images by John Russell.

tobyMac (center right) and his wife Mandy McKeehan (center left) arrive at the 2012 BMI Christian Awards

Lauren Tomlin, Chris Tomlin, BMI's Jody Williams, and EMI CMG Publishing's Eddie DeGarmo

The Isaacs pause for a photo with Jimmy Yeary (second to right) and Judy Nelon (far right)

Jason Crabb and BMI Christian Songwriter of the Year tobyMac

Chris Tomlin, BMI's Jody Williams, Jason Crabb, Jason Roy of Building 429, Susan Stewart of NARAS, Brandon Heath, and Provident Label Group's Blaine Barcus

Nancy Stevens, BMI Christian Songwriter of the Year Chris Stevens, and BMI's Phil Graham.

The 2012 BMI Christian Award medallions

Jody Williams introduces a special segment remembering former BMI CEO Frances Preston

The Isaacs perform "Why Can't We"

Jason Crabb performs "Sometimes I Cry"

Chris Tomlin performs "White Flag"

Universal Music Publishing's Stacey Wilbur and BMI Christian Award-winning songwriters (and Edmonton native) Bernie Herms and Christy Sutherland pause for a photo at the 2012 BMI Christian Awards (Photo by John Russell)

Universal Music Publishing accepts Kirk Franklin's Song of the Year award for "I Smile Do" at the 2012 BMI Christian Music Awards. Pictured are (l-r):BMI's Phil Graham, Universal Music Publishing's John Andrade, BMI's Jody Williams, Universal Music Publishing's Dale Mathews, BMI's Leslie Roberts, and Universal Music Publishing's Stacey Wilbur and Eric Hurt

BMI's Phil Graham and Jody Williams, 2012 BMI Christian Songwriter of the Year tobyMac, and BMI's Leslie Roberts

The night's big winners gather for a photo at the 2012 BMI Christian Awards in Nashville. Pictured are (l-r): BMI's Mike O'Neill; Universal Music Publishing Group's Dale Matthews (accepting Song of the Year Award for Kirk Franklin); Publisher of the Year, EMI CMG Publishing's Eddie DeGarmo; Christian Songwriters of the Year Kyla Rowland, tobyMac, and Chris Stevens; and BMI's Jody Williams and Phil Graham